Comments are off for this post

Men’s State Team Championships 2022

Once again, the Belmont Sports & Recreation Club last weekend played host to a capacity crowd at this year’s Men’s State Teams Championships.

Sixteen Associations were represented by 33 x Teams who battled it out over the two days to see who would take home the coveted “Gold”. With the cream of WA’s darting talent in action, the standard was high with 154 x 180’s and 54 x 100+ pegs being thrown over the two days including a brilliant maximum check out of 170 thrown by Kwinana’s Ian Briggs.

Thank you to the Bookkeepers and the Ladies in the stats room.

Division 1  

Winners: South Suburban 1. 12-34

Team  Adam Rowe, Alec McAvoy, Mark Smyth, Dylan Dunster, Harvey Mayall, Gary Stevens

Runners Up   Fremantle 1  8-43

Team  Tim Pusey, Kim Lewis, Denis Parr, Peer Sutton, Mick Zdun, Matt Moody

Division 2

Winners: West Coast 2. 8-34

Team  Richard Woodgate, Anton Soc, Mark Brazier, Maurice Palmer, Gabb Palmer, Ricky Pickett Jnr

Runner up: South Suburban 2. 8-33

Team  Dylan King, John Coelho, Steve Sutcliffe, Mark Scaffidi, Aaron Heta, Glen Harper, Scott Winter

Division 3

Winners: Port Hedland  10-35

Team  Ronald Nakata, Chris Turland, Grant Dobson, Norm Anderson, Primus Hansen, Jeff Bann, Cyril Councillor

Runner Up: Fremantle 2. 8-33

Kevin Garlett, Milan Josic, Keith Walsh, Gary Hunter, Adam Linford, Mark Walsh

 Division 4

Winners: Rockingham 2. 8-38

Team  Jason Hughes,  Colin Leggett, Shane Kennewell, Kallan Nannup, Wayne Battersby, Tyson Marsh


Runner up: Kwinana  6-30

Team  Brodie little, Nick De Grys, Adam Evans, Ian Briggs, Michael Holmes, Tony Mills, Mick Hopkinson

Division 5

Winners: Swans 3.  10-41

Team Terry Carter, Hans Lostra, Josh Johnstone, Ken Saul, Dean Aldridge, Roger Wright

Runners Up: Port Kennedy 2.  8-33

Team  Kevin Kosovich, Ash McCaully, Paul Newman, Greg Sawyer, Jason Woods, Ian Boyes, Albert Brunton.

Highest Pegs

170 thrown by Kwinana’s Ian Briggs.

Division 1.   Loz Ryder 156, only to have it taken from him by Joe Comito 160

Division 2.   Peter Rowe and Lee Chapman both from Collie and in the same team 160

Division 3.   David Wheatley, 157 Bunbury

Division 5.   Ian Boyes Port Kennedy with a 119 then along came Ron Bowen Mandurah with a 120 in the last game of the day

Top Eight Averages

Adam Rowe, 89.67

Bailey Marsh, 87.27

Justin Miles, 86.32

David Platt, 82.98

Denis Parr, 82.73

Tim Pusey, 82.36

Kim Lewis, 81.17

Ricky Pickett Snr, 80.12

Dylan Dunster, 79.64

DWA Squad to trial for State Selection.

Collie – Lee Chapman

Bunbury – Brenton Lloyd, Joe Comito, Justin Miles, Rueben Hayden

South Suburban – Adam Rowe, Dylan Dunster, Gary Stevens

Quinns Rock – Carl Caton

Swans – Lindsay Haji Ali, Dave Burke

Fremantle – Kim Lewis, Peter Sutton, Matt Moody, Milan Josic

West Coast – David Platt, Ricky Pickett Snr, Howard Jones